Los Laureles Life

Posted on June 23, 2011

3


Written by: Heather Vaccaro

The community that has captured my heart is the home to many of my new friends. I know it’s going to be a good day when a kid runs up and gives me a big hug or puts his arm around me and says, “Heather mi mejor amiga” (my best friend). The relationships for me have been a blessing. With only a few weeks left, questions of when we are coming back are becoming more frequent. I want to tell my friends that I will be coming back to see them soon, but it’s hard to have to say that I really don’t know. The look in their eyes is nearly heartbreaking. I want to support them, but when I tell them that I don’t know if I will be coming back, I feel as though I have let them down. Granted they are used to “Gringos” walking in and out of their lives, but I find it hard to leave when we could be here making an impact. The kids simply need love and encouragment. Thankfully, Matt is able to be that stable role model in many of their lives.

Matt teaching the kids about Jesus

It’s only been a week since Matt left for the States, and what an eye opening week it has been. He does so much for the community. He is not only a care provider for 4 boys, he is the supplier for 4 soccer teams and is a taxi for many. Getting your “feet wet” as many will call it, is an understatement to how Matt’s life is. As we were thrown into his lifestyle I never realized 4 teenage boys would be so much work. Matt is like a single father of 4, so now our team of 5 has 4 boys! I never realized the amount of work that goes into keeping his ship running somewhat smoothly. Random cereal runs, money, cleats, food, and most importantly hauling water is all a part our new normal life in Los Laureles. This is by the far the best way to see what Matt’s life is really like, as is life not only glorifies God, but is also a major male role model for most of the boys of the community.

Rambo taking on his new role

5, 4, 3, 2, 1 "King of the Rock"

Carrie and Nodi chatting while at the river

Blakely and Heather are new moms!

You never know what you will find in Los Laureles

Posted in: Uncategorized